Senate confirms four NUPRC commissioner nominees

Senate confirms four NUPRC commissioner nominees

- in Featured

THE Senate, on Wednesday, confirmed the nominations of four executive commissioners of the Nigerian Upstream Petroleum Regulatory Commission.

The confirmation of the appointments by the President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), followed the consideration and adoption of the report by the Senate Committee on Petroleum Resources (Upstream) on the nominees.

Those confirmed include Dr. Nuhu Habib (North-West/Kano State) as executive commissioner, Development and Production; and Dr. Kelechi Onyekachi Ofoegbu (South-East/Imo State) as executive commissioner, Economic Regulations and Strategic Planning.

Others are Capt. Tonlagha Roland John (South-South/Delta State) as executive commissioner, Health, Safety, Environment and Community; and Mr. Jide Adeola (North-Central/Kogi State) as commissioner, Corporate Services and Administration.

Senator Patrick Akinyelure, in a presentation on behalf of the Chairman of the committee, Senator Albert Akpan, said appointments of the nominees satisfied the requirements of Sections 11 and 18 (1-5) of the Petroleum Industry Act, 2021.

Akinyelure also stated that the nominees possess the requisite qualifications, leadership qualities and comportment to discharge the statutory duties and functions of the various offices.

He added that there was no petition or adverse reports received by the panel against any one of the nominees.

The lawmaker stressed that the nominees are qualified and suitable for the positions, describing them as “fit and proper persons.”

Copyright PUNCH

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from PUNCH.

Contact: [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like

28 years after, FG redeems house pledge to late Keshi

The Federal Government, Thursday, has handed over the